Shanghai Conservatory of Music International Electronic Music Week

 

Establishment
The Shanghai Conservatory of Music International Electronic Music Week was established in 2006, sponsored by the Shanghai Conservatory of Music and presented by the conservatory’s Department of Music Production and Engineering. Our objectives in hosting the International Electronic Music Week are: to provide an international, cutting-edge stage in the field of electronic music; to showcase the newest compositions, sound installations, and research developments in electronic music from around the world; and to provide a platform for the debut and release of electronic music compositions by the world’s next generation of composers.

 

 

2013 (4th Annual) Shanghai Conservatory of Music International Electronic Music Week
The 2013 International Electronic Music Week (EMW 2013) will open with a “Salute to the Masters,” with electronic music classics by master composers including Pierre Boulez, Steve Reich, and Luigi Nono making their collective Chinese debut. Celebrated composers Kaijia Saariaho and Jean-Baptiste Barrière have jointly produced their piece “New Visuals of Electronic Music” for this year’s electronic music week, with interactive multimedia technologies woven throughout their performance for an even more dazzling display of artistry. Popular electronic music composer Philippe Manoury will also present two works showcasing a rich variety of electronic music techniques. Of course, we are honored to welcome back some of our old friends – Jacopo Baboni Shilingi, Hans Tutschku, and other PRISMA composers – who will be presenting the world debuts of their newest works.
Continuing our tradition of highlighting innovative spirit and presenting commissioned works, EMW 2013 will showcase new commissioned pieces by Xi Yao and Pengyun Li, winners of last year’s “Collected Works,” in support of these rising stars. New Chinese electronic music composers Qiangbin Chen, Ping Jin, Jian Feng, and Jie Zhu have also accepted EMW commissions, and will be unveiling their colorful creations. Through an alliance with 15th Shanghai International Arts Festival Week, this year’s “Collected Works” segment will strive to provide an even greater showcase for young artists.
Following the success of EMW 2011 in hosting China’s first interactive sound installation exhibit, this year’s EMW will work with the Shanghai International Arts Festival, the Shanghai Concert Hall, and the Shanghai Theater Academy to present various installation pieces. German artist Christof Schläger’s custom instrument comprising 64 air-pressure horns of different tones is particularly noteworthy; also of interest is Dutch artist Edwin van der Heide’s “Pneumatic Sound Field,” an outdoor installation that automatically generates sound from dozens of pneumatic valves according to changes in surrounding air pressure.
EMW emphasizes not only artistic creation, but also the international exchange and promotion of technological innovation. As part of its explorations of cutting-edge electronic music technology, EMW 2013 will offer a two-day international forum in the topics of “Interactive and Other New Media” and “Soundspace – 3D Holography.”

We are fortunate to welcome the following guests to an international expert brainstorming session: Professor Miller Puckette, creator of MAX/MSP and Pd; Dr. Frédéric Bevilacqua, leader of IRCAM’s Real Time Musical Interactions team (France); Dr. Chris Chafe, director of Stanford University’s Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics (CCRMA) (USA); Professor Fernando Lopez-Lezcano, also of Stanford’s CCRMA (USA); Georg Hadju, professor of multimedia composition at the Hamburg Hochschule für Musik und Theater (Germany); Christophe Letreton, engineer, and Johannes Scherzer, 3D sound designer, of the Grame Centre National de Création Musicale (France); and leading professors from various Chinese universities including the Shanghai Conservatory of Music and Shanghai Jiaotong University. Research developments will be shared not only on paper, but through live demonstrations and displays to stage for a rich display of global electronic music technology.

Performances by of distinguished domestic and international concert artists are another highlight of this year’s EMW. Violist Christophe Desjardins, who recorded Luciano Berio’s “Sequenza VI” for DG, will present both a solo performance in the evening concert and an instrumental workshop on the interpretation of “Sequenza VI.” Performers from the Ensemble de Musique Interactive (France) will present a workshop on interactive performance. The 2013 EMW will also feature numerous additional activities, including seminars, master classes, and arts education, as well as a 10th-anniversary celebration of the Shanghai Conservatory of Music’s Department of Music Production and Engineering.
2011 Third EMW Profile

Taking “Sense Music, Touch Music” as its theme, the 2011 International Electronic Music Week of Shanghai Conservatory of Music opened on October 10th, 2011. This EMW lasted for a week, with a total of nine musical concerts, 10 lectures, 1 master class, 1 international conference, 1 international forum, 2 domestic workshops and “Touch Sound”, a domestic-first interactive installation exhibition which took sound art and electronic music as its theme. Outstanding contemporary artists from France, the Netherlands, Italy, Switzerland, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Chinese mainland and other places combined sound devices, electronic music, everyday behavior and interactive art ingeniously, to bring the audience a visual feast with experimental value, ornamental value as well as interactive experience.

This EMW collected the new works of young artists from 11 countries and regions including China, Britain, France, America, Italy and Ireland. After expert review, 20 works were performed in the “New Generation Concert”, and three winners were chosen among them. They were Yao Xi, Li Pengyun and Yu Xiaolu. Their contacted new works will be performed during the fourth EMW in 2013.

 

2009 Second EMW Profile
The second International Electronic Music Week of Shanghai Conservatory of Music was held from October 19 to October 24 in 2009 in Shanghai. This music week was another grand music event held after the success of the first music week in 2006. Altogether, there were five formal concerts and four academic exchange concerts. Prisma, the specially invited agency, organized scholars abroad to come to Shanghai to work as the experts for a series of workshops and concerts, and held a three-day international forum. Also, artists and scholars from countries and regions including the United States, the Netherlands, Germany, Italy, Finland, Hong Kong and Taiwan participated in this music week. Experts from home and abroad gathered together in Shanghai to discuss the development strategy for electronic music in the 21st century, to strengthen the exchanges and cooperation of different disciplines from universities home and abroad, to promote discipline construction and to jointly push forward the development of electronic music.

 

2006 First EMW Profile
The “Shanghai International Music Week” held from October 16th to October 21st, 2006 in Shanghai satisfied the fans and related scholars who were looking forward to this event with its “brand new organization concept”, “top-level technology exhibition” and “focus on the integration of traditions and modern music”, and left people with a great impression. In the 2006 Shanghai International Electronic Music Week, four concerts were held, namely, ”Tradition and Modernity Intersect Here”, “A Personal Interpretation from the Composer”, “New Generation Concert” and “Multi-media Concert”. There were also a series of five master workshops including “The Creation, Production and Performance of Interactive Electronic Music”, seven composer seminars including ”The Composer Talks about Electronic Music” and a round table conference-“A Strategic Development Discussion about Electronic Music, Musical Technology and Applied Music”. During the Music Week, foreign guests, experts and scholars from the United States, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Australia and Singapore, and domestic experts, scholars and students from Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts, Central Conservatory of Music, China Conservatory, Wuhan Conservatory of Music, China Academy of Art and many other institutions participated in this event.

上海音乐学院国际电子音乐周(Electronic Music Week,EMW)

 

音乐周的创办

“上海音乐学院国际电子音乐周”创办于2006年,由上海音乐学院主办,上海音乐学院音乐工程系承办。举办音乐周的宗旨是 : 搭建一个在电子音乐领域最具国际性和前沿性的舞台,展示全球最新的电子音乐作品、声音艺术装置和电子音乐技术研发成果,并为全球新生代作曲家的电子音乐作品提供一个首演和发布的平台。

 

2013(第四届)上海音乐学院国际电子音乐周(EMW)

2013EMW音乐会系列在“向大师致敬”中开启——Pierre Boulez、Steve Reich、Luigi Nono等大师的经典电子音乐作品首次集中呈现在国内音乐舞台上;Kaija Saariaho与Jean Baptiste Barrières这对著名的作曲家伉俪联手为本届音乐周制作了《新视觉电子音乐》,整场音乐会都以交互多媒体的方式为他们的精彩作品演绎增添了更大的艺术感染力;音乐周还将上演Philippe Manoury这位当红电子音乐作曲家的两首富含电子音乐技术含量的作品;当然,我们的老朋友——来自PRISMA国际组织的几位作曲家Jacopo Baboni Schilingi、Hans Tutschku等依然会带来他们的最新世界首演作品。

延续EMW一贯强调创新活力、重视委约制作的传统,2013EMW将委约上届“征集作品”活动获胜者姚熙、李鹏云创作新作品,对这些新星给予持续的支持与关注;而陈强斌、金平、冯坚、朱杰几位中国新派电子音乐作曲家将接受EMW的委约与挑战,各自呈现缤纷创意。而今年的“作品征集”板块则将联合“第十五届中国上海国际艺术节扶持青年艺术家计划暨青年艺术创想周”,意图为青年艺术家们提供更为开阔及国际化的展示平台。

继2011EMW成功举办国内首个互动声音装置展后,本届EMW携手上海国际艺术节、上海音乐厅、上海戏剧学院,展出多个装置作品。尤其值得关注的是德国艺术家Christof Schläger带来的一件由64个不同音调的空气压力喇叭组成的“乐器”以及荷兰艺术家Edwin van der Heide创作的由数十个气动阀门根据周围空气压力变化而自动生成声音的户外装置《气动声场》。

EMW不仅强调艺术创新,也致力于技术创新的国际交流与推广。2013EMW聚焦“交互式与新媒体”以及“声音空间-3D全息”这两个电子音乐领域的国际前沿课题举办为期两天的国际论坛,我们有幸请到MAX/MSP及PD创始人Miller Puckette教授、法国IRCAM实时音乐互动项目组负责人Frédéric Bevilacqua博士、美国斯坦福大学音乐声学计算机研究中心(CCRMA)主任Chris Chafe及Fernando Lopez-Lezcano教授、德国汉堡音乐与戏剧学院多媒体作曲系George Hajdu教授、法国国家创作中心(GRAME)工程师Christophe Letreton、3D声音设计师Johannes Scherzer以及上海音乐学院、上海交通大学等国内院校的专家教授进行全球顶尖的“头脑风暴”。更有意思的是,讨论不仅停留在纸面展示,这些研究成果还将进行现场示范演示,提供生动的真实案例,这无疑是电子音乐技术领域的国际盛宴。

国内外杰出演奏家的到访参与也是本届EMW的亮点,曾为DG录制Luciano Berio《Sequenza VI》的中提琴演奏家Christophe Desjardins不仅有晚间音乐会的独奏演出,还将围绕该《Sequenza VI》的诠释举办器乐工作坊;而来自法国EMI交互室内乐团的几位演奏家则为我们带来交互器乐演奏工作坊。除此以外,2013EMW还有讲座、大师班、艺术教育、上海音乐学院音乐工程系建系10周年庆典等诸多多元活动单元。

 

2011(第三届)上海音乐学院国际电子音乐周(EMW)

以“感知音乐,触摸声音”为主题的2011上海音乐学院国际电子音乐周于2011年10月10日开幕,为期一周,共举办了9场音乐会、10场讲座、1场大师班、1场国际会议、1场国际论坛、2场国内研讨会以及国内首次以声音艺术与电子音乐为主题的装置艺术“Touch Sound-触摸声音”互动装置展等活动。来自法国、荷兰、意大利、瑞士、香港、台湾、中国等地的优秀当代艺术家们将声音装置、电子音乐、日常行为与互动艺术巧妙融合,为观众呈现一场既具有实验性、观赏性也强调互动体验的视听盛宴。

这届电子音乐周征集到了来自中、英、法、美、意、爱尔兰、等11个国家和地区的青年艺术家们的新作品。经专家评审,20部作品在《新生代音乐会》上展演,并从中选出了姚熙、李鹏云、於笑鹿三位获胜者,他们的委约作品将于2013年第四届音乐周期间上演。

 

2009(第二届)上海音乐学院国际电子音乐周(EMW)

2009第二届上海音乐学院国际电子音乐周于2009年10月19日至10月24日在上海举办。这届音乐周是继2006首届音乐周成功举办后再度推出的一项盛会,共举办五场正式音乐会与四场学术交流音乐会。特邀机构——普瑞斯玛组织了跨国界学者来沪担任系列工作坊及讲座的专家,并举行为期三天的国际论坛。另有来自美国、荷兰、德国、意大利、芬兰、香港、台湾等国家和地区的艺术家、学者参与到此次音乐周的活动之中。国内外同行专家齐聚上海共同探讨21世纪电子音乐的发展战略,加强国内外各院校之间各专业门类之间的交流合作,促进学科建设,共同推进电子音乐事业的发展。

 

2006(第一届)上海音乐学院国际电子音乐周(EMW)

于2006年10月16日至21日在上海举行的“上海国际电子音乐周”以其“全新的举办理念”、“顶尖的技术呈现”、“注重传统与现代音乐结合的新作品”等特点,饱食了期待中的乐迷和相关学者,给人留下美好的印象。2006上海国际电子音乐周组织策划了4场音乐会——“传统与现代在这里交汇”、“来自作曲家的亲自诠释”、 “新生代音乐会”、“多媒体音乐会”;5个系列大师工作坊——“交互式电子音乐的创作、制作与演奏”等;7场作曲家讲座——“作曲家谈电子音乐”等和一个圆桌会议——“关于电子音乐、音乐科技与应用音乐学科的战略发展研讨”。音乐周期间,来自美国、法国、德国、荷兰、澳大利亚、新加坡等国外嘉宾、专家学者以及来自香港演艺学院、中央音乐学院、中国音乐学院、武汉音乐学院、中国美术学院等院校的国内专家学者及学生前来参加了此项活动。

 

微信公众平台二维码

qrcode_for_gh_1bdb2975b40d_430